t-virus, not t-pain

4 Sep

Kim Tae Woo is finally back with his first album since completing his mandatory army service!  A welcome return too, as he has one of the smoothest, most chilled-out voices in kpop.  The album, T-Virus, is bad (as in MJ) and I will be looking out for it in shops.

Sure, I download all my korean music, since there is no way in hell I can afford to buy so many korean CDs, let alone english and chinese music.  But I always purchase albums which I think are classics, or from my favourite artists i.e. Big Bang, 2NE1, Fly to the Sky etc etc.  Yes, the artists might have worked hard to record an album, but if there are only 2 stand out tracks out of 10, i’m not going to waste my money on it.  Would you pay the full price of a bag of apples, where 8 out of 10 of them are rotten? Nah.. didn’t think so.

T-Virus, on first listen, is worthy of my cash.  Some great production, perfect vocals and a very laid back sound to all of it, a nice change to all the electro/dance/pop thing that is all the craze in Korea.  Although I think he uses the ‘T-Pain’ effect a bit too much.. You got a killer voice.. why mess with it? When used in short amounts and appropriately, such as in Taeyang’s Prayer, then it sounds good.  But is it necessary to use it on every track?

2NE1 digitally released the ‘Reggae remix’ version of “I Don’t Care”. Smooth hooks, brass instruments aplenty and sultry voices, its more like a jazz version to me, but I absolutely love it ^^ Now I hope they released a studio-recorded version of “Last Farewell”!

And YG announced that wifey Dara will be releasing her first solo track “Kiss”, which is obviously a not so subtle message to me.  Uh huh.

Leave a Reply

