What I Like: KPOP

9 Sep

My first encounter with Kpop was around 10 years ago, when I noticed a Korean buddy of mine bought a shiny new Sony Discman.

“Hey man – I thought you were gonna buy one of those new music players, a MP3 player, Samsung Yepp?”

“I was. But my bro just got back from Korea. He bought me a CD. New group called Fly to the Sky. Don’t laugh man, the name sounds gay, but they are so awesome. Can’t stop listening to them”

Forget about the fact that you can burn CDs to transfer the music onto an MP3 player (Hey, we were young and technological newbs. I bought a freaking MD player. What a waste.) But I was intrigued at why my friend would spend a huge amount of money -for a kid- just to listen to music by 2 guys with the craziest hair.

Hairstyle name: Parting Mop Head

But after listening to them, it was love at first sight listen.

From there, I went onto BoA, a bit of HOT, bit of Shinhwa, god, watching X-man, Rain, Se7en, Wheesung, Tasha, JinuSean, 1TYM, Big bang (basically most of YG) etc.

Korean music is different, unique, trendy. At least compared to Chinese music. Korean music can actually be defined into different genres. There is only one type of Chinese music – Karaoke CPOP. The singers themselves are also the full package – most are multi talented: singing, rapping, dancing, acting, comedy, variety and to boot, they are HOT. No wonder the Chinese music companies are trying to replicate Korean music, and bringing in Korean coaches to train new Chinese talent.

ANGEL

Below is a list of my favourite Kpop artists – you can see the majority is made up of RnB and Hip Hop artists.  I’ve also made a list for singers that I think have a great future ahead. If they fulfill their potential, then I hope to promote them to my “Fav Kpop Artists” list 😀

Fav Kpop Artists
Big Bang, Epik High, 1TYM, JinuSean, BoA, Fly to the Sky (now Hwanhee), Wheesung, Tasha, SHINee, 2NE1, Rain, Se7en, 2PM, Younha, 4men, Brown Eyed Soul, Lyn, Gummy, god, Dynamic Duo, J.ae, Clazziquai

Ones to Look out for
One Way, 4minute, MBLAQ, BEAST, Secret, Untouchable, Navi, May Doni, Seo In Gook, Kim Yeo Hee

I listen other singers too, like DBSK, SNSD, After School, CN Blue. FT Island etc, but they aren’t my absolute favourite.

Big Bang - All sorts of awesome

I’ll create a page for these lists, which I’ll update every so often, so you can see who I think are hot right now. I don’t listen to much indie, but you have any good recommendations based on my taste, feel free to suggest some.

Cheerio!

Leave a Reply

