Thoughts on 2NE1 – To Anyone

10 Sep

Just a quick review. No – I lie. A review is supposed to be insightful right? Check out McRoth’s (and Tuc’s) review for a more articulate piece. Sigh, I’m jealous they can write eloquently. At best, I’m a mad man with a keyboard trying my best to write in proper sentences.

Well anyway, a few general thoughts of the long awaited (pretty much every album/single by YG artistes are ‘long awaited’ .. )  first full album from 2NE1.

TOO. MUCH. AUTOTUNE.

I think that echos the thoughts of 99% of people who listen to “To Anyone”. I actually felt pissed off when listening to “Can’t Nobody” lol. WHAT IS THIS I DON’T EVEN…

2NE1 CAN sing. Even Dara can! Yeah I’m not kidding – I said it. Dara can sing. It’s just when she is in a group with 3 other girls who can really belt it out, and have such deep, rich voices, listening to Dara on the same track is a little jarring. So why use so much autotune? I’ve never been a fan of autotune, but I agree that if used in moderation, autotune can enhance a song (examples: Taeyang’s ‘Prayer’ and ‘I’ll Be There’).

I think only 3 tracks don’t use autotune – the gorgeous ballad, ‘Painful’, Bom’s ‘You and I’ and ‘I Don’t Care’. Incidently, they are also my 3 favourite tracks.

I’ve now listened to the album in its entirely at least 6 times, and the initial ear-fuck that the autotune gave me has subsided. I’ve started to like ‘Can’t Nobody’, ‘Go Away’ is a great uplifting tune, and ‘Clap Your Hands’ is a decent hip hop number. BTW, do yourself a favour and listen to the album with a decent pair of headphones. It makes a world of difference. With a crappy pair, it makes the songs sound even more processed and fuzzy.

2NE1 may not deserve all the hype YG keeps giving them, and even though the album isn’t perfect, they’re still my favourite kpop girl group. They got the x-factor, the swagger, the style, the talent. Most importantly, they have personality, unlike many other korean manufactured groups.

Overall, whilst it was a bit rough on the production front (please Teddy, get some rest. YG needs some new producers!) I’m pleased with the album, and I look forward to their other MVs and performances.

Meanwhile, check out their MV for ‘Clap Your Hands’. They really shine don’t they? ^^

2 Responses to “Thoughts on 2NE1 – To Anyone”

  1. Lynette / Kokokoreano September 10, 2010 at 11:13 am #

    Totally agree on the autotune part >.< I've listened to the album only once and the autotune killed me. Gonna try listening to it again~

    "(please Teddy, get some rest. YG needs some new producers!)"
    omg no~~~ lol! i adore teddy! xD

    • qoobie23 September 10, 2010 at 5:28 pm #

      Haha I didn’t mean put Teddy to permanent rest. 😛 Just he needs to take a holiday, perhaps find some new inspiration? He’s produced a LOT of tracks for YG in one year.

      Or instead of rest, perhaps he can round up the 1TYM crew. I miss them =(

Leave a Reply

